Potential of Microcredentials in Southern Africa (PoMISA)

January 2024 to December 2025
policy development
regional guidelines
University of Johannesburg (South Africa)
Council on Higher Education (South Africa)
University of South Africa (South Africa)
North-West University (South Africa)
South African Qualification Authority (South Africa)
JET Education Services (South Africa)
University of Namibia (Namibia)
Namibia University of Science and Technology (Namibia)
National Council for Higher Education (Namibia)
University of Mauritius (Mauritius)
University of Technology Mauritius (Mauritius)
Higher Education Commission (Mauritius)
Lerotholi Polytechnic (Lesotho)
National University of Lesotho (Lesotho)
Council on Higher Education (Lesotho)
Research fields
Social Sciences

This capacity building in higher education (CBHE) project, a collaboration between Southern African and European universities and higher education councils, will systematically develop principles and policies for the recognition, quality assurance and regulation of microcredentials in Southern African countries.

After examining the state of microcredential conceptualisation, policy development and implementation in Lesotho, Mauritius, Namibia and South Africa, in both the public and private sectors, and through intra- and inter-regional consultations, the project will develop national concept papers for the systematic introduction of regional guidelines and policy frameworks on microcredentials.